top of page
RSS Feed

Why now leave?

It has been 8 years of living in Hawaii and now it is time to go back to California. My wife was lucky enough to have the opportunity of opening up a new store here on the island. The company she works for offered to move us out, pay a couple months rent and all this for a minimal one year commitment. On the otherhand, I came to Hawaii with no job, having just left working retail for a high end company. I only knew that I did not want to work in that environment one more time. So, of course life decided that is where I should be working.

I am now doing what I love, what I was meant to do and what I know can change the world. I teach. I love all the people I have met and the opportunities I have been afforded, but sadly it is time to leave that all behind. Hawaii is a very unique place and everyone here likes to remind outsiders of that, but I am not leaving as an outsider. It may have taken me a while to "get it", but I am a part of this community. So, why now leave? I cannot control the roller-coaster of life. I can get on or off, but it will go where it must. This is not to say that I am just along for the ride. "No," I am choosing the roller-coaster I ride. Some are really exciting and some just keep moving forward, but all of them have their ups and downs.

I am asked by some, "Will you come back?" I will always be here in my soul. I may be called back to this oasis, but only when the time is right. I am grateful for all I learned here, for all my new friends, for my teaching career and most of all for the Aloha.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page